UK CLL Forum, UKCLLFORUM

Rituxan, Fludarabine and Cyclophosphamide (RFC) - Robert C

Topic Made On: May 28, 2008 01:51pm
Robert Cork

I have been working towards this day for the last 3 months in that I started my first round of RFC (Rituxan, Fludarabine and Cyclophosphamide) today (28th May 08). It has been a Rollercoaster ride over the last 3 months for a number of reasons:

• It all started with my Haematologist retiring with just a months notice and the task of trying to find a suitable replacement.
• Losing weight at about 2kg per month.
• Excruciating stomach cramps for no apparent reason.
• CT Scan that revealed lesions on bones which could have been a transformation to something more aggressive.
• Rapidly falling red cell counts indicating a possible transformation.
• Bone marrow biopsy for lesions under CT.
• A lousy bout of Bronchitis and sinus infection over the last 3 weeks.

A week ago I started all of the pre medications:

• Pentamadine (inhalation in a hospital environment, to prevent PCP a form of pneumonia).
• Valaciclovir (250mg) twice a day (to prevent shingles).
• Allopurinol 300mg once a day (to prevent gout).

In 2002 when I received single agent Fludarabine I developed an allergic reaction to Aciclovir which I was taking prophylactically. This was of concern to me this time around as the risk of shingles or CMV reactivation with RFC is high. However, I am lucky that the Valaciclovir drug has not produced any adverse skin reactions.

Today I started the chemo: Fludarabine (20mg) and Cyclophosphamide (150mg) all being oral drugs. My first round of RFC is interesting in that it’s good for the patient! My Haematologist for the first round prescribes only 50% of the standard dosage of FRC, she does this so as the patient has a fighting chance of tolerating the first round without to many complications. Starting today, I had the additional nausea medications of: Metoclopramide 10mg 3 times a day and Ondansetron 8mg twice a day.